Syllables in the dark

I listen to you breathe
your breath mingling with mine
I look into your eyes
black and white and so much color
in the vast ocean in between

My heart rends
and in this darkness
You take my hand
and smile
setting my soul on fire

My past and future speak
secret syllables of a language unknown
They make words
that call me by my true name–
a name I do not yet know

And in this moment
all that I am,
all that I am not,
and all that I wish to be
intertwine with our destinies and our fingers.

This entry was posted in Poetry. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Syllables in the dark

  1. Aleza says:

    Destinies and fingers intertwined. Very, very nice!

  2. Jingle says:

    love your title…
    divine writing…

    A++
    🙂

    • NotATameLion says:

      Thanks Jingle. Though when I think about it now, maybe I was subconsciously influenced by Tolkien’s Riddles in the dark.

  3. Reflections says:

    Divine inspirations on this one… just fabulous.

    • NotATameLion says:

      Oh that the muses would indeed sing through me. Maybe when I feel all drunk on love like in the moments described here…but I have other things on my mind than writing then (:
      Thanks for the encouragement, Reflections.

Leave a Reply

