You hold my heart

You hold my heart
In a sure embrace
You hold my love
In return for your smile

Your hand reaches and takes mine
Just as surely as you reach in
And touch the deepest
Part of my soul

You hold my heart
Through seasons that change
Like a silent backdrop
Behind us

You take my hand
When I feel
Unworthy to be
Touched

You hold my heart
Through the storms that
Rage
Within me

Your arms wrap around me
When all inside me becomes
Cold and on the verge
Of death

You bring me back
When I fade
You bring me life
When I lose faith

You hold my heart
And protect me
When everyone else finds me
Fierce

You find my frailty
And even knowing full well what I am
You step up, kiss me, and then-in the darkness-
You hold my heart

This entry was posted in Poetry. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

