These wounds

These wounds
I carry

They make me smile
They make me feel alive

From battlefields before you were born
They spring

From songs unsung
From friends fallen

I hold them dear
Every single one

From love lost
From heaven’s disdain

And hell’s glee

I would wrap my arms round you now
And consider all things even

You are mine
I am yours

Completely

Let the winds howl
And the peoples rage

I will hold you
And we will be home

This entry was posted in Poetry. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

