Love

Yesterday I was taking a swirl down the toilet that is sometimes how I see myself and feel about myself. I was talking about how at my root, I am nothing but selfish and self-serving. And this friend of mine…this friend I could never deserve in a thousand years…looked me in the eyes and said:

“Those things are not true. Even if they were true, I would still love you.”

I forget what love looks like. I forget how it can pull you from the pit. I forget that God is love.

I forget that God loved and loves me – even at my worst.

I remember now.

My friend has so often been been and repeatedly is the voice of God’s love in my life. Her love, like his love, is relentless. Today, a friend asked me, “What is one thing you are thankful for right now?”

My answer right now is that I cannot get my friend’s voice out of my head.

And that I have been smiling all day.

Thank you.

This entry was posted in Where I'm At. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

