Monumental importance

I saw a friend today. She came and grabbed my arm before I even saw her and said, “You didn’t think you could sneak past me did you?” And then I smiled.

What is it about friendship…true friendship…that makes us co-conspirators in smiling through the pain life so often points at us?

Time and circumstance can throw what they will at friends. But the smile that comes with recognition, the love that comes with stepping past all time and circumstance into something greater and more lasting remains.

Perhaps in this is the proof of what a temporary, fleeting thing this life really is. And of what monumental importance others truly are.

At any rate, I am glad she saw me. And I am glad to have seen her.

This entry was posted in Where I'm At and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

