Hatred

Hatreds do not ever cease in this world by hating
But by not hating
This is an eternal truth

And hatred is not the opposite of love
Apathy is
Experience dictates this

Why then, when I examine my soul,
Do I detest you
With a calm, measured, apathy?

I pray for your salvation
For our brotherhood
But I would just as soon forsake you

Or rend you in two

It matters not to me

Only for the sake of those I love
And for the watchful eyes of heaven above
Do I forbear

This entry was posted in Poetry and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

