In a mirror

My heart breaks
And I see you

Words pile on words
In this room
Of death

And there you stand

My soul falters
And you stare at me

With eyes
Immovable
Inscrutable

This is our only embrace

My mind races in against itself
As it does

And you

Wait
Watch
Look through me

And consider

If only I could touch you
If only you would move closer

And even as you stand at my shoulder
And even as you watch me like no one does

We might as well be strangers who
Catch one another’s eyes in a mirror

And then are gone

This entry was posted in Poetry and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to In a mirror

  1. Katheryne says:

    Its sad. it reminds me of something.

Leave a Reply

