My stigmata returns (for Li Po, dancing in the moonlight)

My stigmata returns
among deformity
in my hand and in my spirit

I am wretched
lousy as lousy Salinger would say

Yet in her there is hope

I extend my hand
and she takes it
claims it
unfolds it
entwines it with her own

What to make of these wounds?
evidences of my sin?
of my need for redemption?

Now, she unbends the bent-
the corded tissue, the scars,
the blood

Skin whispers on skin
healing begins

I wonder what brother Francis would say

My hand is flexed
she smiles
I smile too

My heart and pain lightened
we move on to other things

In this moment there is holiness
stillness
trust and beauty

Like the peace brought by another’s wounds

This entry was posted in Poetry and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to My stigmata returns (for Li Po, dancing in the moonlight)

  1. Jingle says:

    this is super sweet love.
    vivid imagery,
    beautiful job.

  2. A.B. Thomas says:

    Fantastic blending of imagery of the past blended with the thought of renewal – thanks for the great read.

  3. Luke Prater says:

    Excellent work. A craftsman you are…. these my favourite lines:

    I am wretched
    lousy as lousy Salinger would say

    love the repetition of ‘lousy’.. a device most evocative and enjoyable when used well…

    Great stuff, man

    Luke @ WordSalad

    (mine are here –
    To Ashes: http://wp.me/pTeVg-ca
    Let Me: http://wp.me/pTeVg-bW
    Indigenous: http://wp.me/pTeVg-bK

  4. Lion, this is gorgeous, sad, bittersweet, graceful. All in one.

    Your religious undertones (stigmata, Francis) are haunting touches.

    I loved this poem. Thanks.

    Amy Barlow Liberatore

Leave a Reply

