It’s a waste of time to think that if you colored a painting red what might have happened if you painted it black

Baseball is, to me, the most perfect of games. Better, in it’s way, than either my beloved football or my hated yet respected basketball and hockey.

The rest of the games are about physical dominance and tactical expertise. These things fade and adapt with time. They are ephemeral at best.

Baseball is about the moment.

You can be as good as the next guy. But whether you are batting or pitching or fielding, you have to await the moment. And the breeze plays its part. And the ball can take a funny hop. All you can do is be ready for what the moment presents.

Recently, I have been playing the card game Phase 10. In mastering the game, I have found that its lessons are a lot like Baseball’s.

What you are, what you have in the moment, is only as good as your choices when the moment arrives. And if the moment arrives and you come up short, your only resort is to be ready for the next moment.

I say all of this to bring to you the words of a woman I respect deeply. I respect her not for her talents but for her choices. She has lived a remarkable life. One that could have been bitter…but one that was not.

And so, I close this post with her words. In them, I find wisdom:

“It’s a waste of time to think that if you colored a painting red what might have happened if you painted it black.”

This entry was posted in Where I'm At and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to It’s a waste of time to think that if you colored a painting red what might have happened if you painted it black

  1. Jingle says:

    not all have talent, wise choices are cool too.
    lovely story.

Leave a Reply

