Here and now

It is not the loss
of old friends
but the realization that
they are dead friends
that are the cutting words here

I tell
I do not show
Because if I were to show
it would take a lifetime
and you would leave these lines of mine
bitter
and broken

Here and now
let us move past niceties
and embrace
my lips on yours
For time is short
and no tomorrow is guaranteed

This entry was posted in Poetry and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Here and now

  1. That first stanza so painful I have lost many friends so I can relate. I like the end enjoying while it lasts. Well done

  2. Jingle says:

    super poetic and beautiful.

    agree with your view on friendship.
    cheers.

Leave a Reply

