My only aim

I was rootless and aimless
Before you
And when I thought
All was lost
You stripped away
Still more

Naked and exposed
Before you
I found healing

To be
Loved and accepted

To be claimed
By you

To be held fast
And to be made
Wonderful
In your eyes

…Here words cease
Here the Holy
Begins

You have made me
Take root

You
And only you
Are my only aim

This entry was posted in Poetry and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to My only aim

  1. bendedspoon says:

    You only aim for One — for everything. Love your poem 🙂

  2. Marit says:

    this is beautiful. i like your style

  3. Jingle says:

    aimless without you,
    aim is you…

    how cute, sweet poetry, thanks for sharing.

    A++

  4. What a beautiful poem. May we all find the one that roots us to ourself. 🙂

    My Potluck Poem: Mood Rings of the Future

  5. Bob, this is amazing. I just wrote a post for a weekly article I write called “Wordsmith Wednesday” about expressing love without getting in to purple prose. May I add a link to this to illustrate “how to?” Victoria

  6. mairmusic says:

    Great images and emotions here.

  7. Trisha says:

    Now, this is what i call a “worthy” aim, hope you get your aim 🙂

  8. Pingback: Wordsmith Wednesday–Writing from the Heart « liv2write2day's Blog

  9. redroom10 says:

    Very meaningful and powerful. Love it.

  10. Just to let you know–although not poem of the week, I did highlight this on the potluck blog. It’s so well written. Victoria

Leave a Reply

