We are all water pitchers

We are
All
Like water pitchers
Filled with
Different things

Before you

Mine had been dumped out
Emptied
Kicked along the ground
Rained on
Covered by mud
Half-filled by
Unmentionable things

When you came

You picked me up
Filled me
With everything clean
And wonderful
Shined your light through me
Set me rightside up again
Held me
Looked long and hard
At me

And then

And then you smiled

(I smiled too)

This entry was posted in Poetry and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

