Remember

Neighbors…

When I am gone
Remember me

Remember me not
For my own need
To be remembered

Remember me for our quiet
Conversation on
Swingsets, lawns, and in lakes

Remember me
For the brush of my shirt against you
As we moved

Remember letting go
And holding fast

Remember missing
My sleight of hand,
Sleight of soul

Remember the masks
Worn and torn off
Over the years

Remember at last my hatred
And mastery of secrets

Remember in the end
The oceans of care and trust
That passed between us

It is all like a dream now…

But on waking…

…On remembrance
Underneath time
And running through and past and on into forever…

I adored every second of it

This entry was posted in Poetry and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

