What it is like

Made a wish somewhere in the night
On things that matter well
Remember Lord what it is like

When the invisible breath of a rose holds you tight
And swears you never to tell
Of the makings of wishes somewhere in the night

My love, my baby, is wrapped in light
And all manner of things will be well
Remember Lord what it is like

To struggle, to scrape, to fight
Like some dog laboring in hell
Where I made a wish somewhere in the night

It is hard to know wrong from right
In this place in which we dwell
Remember Lord what it is like

Then her brightness washes out my sight
And she reaches down to where I fell
She is why I made this wish somewhere in the night
Remember Lord what it is like

This entry was posted in Poetry and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to What it is like

  1. C Rose says:

    Well the architecture of this piece is simply lovely. I really enjoyed the flow and rhyme scheme. Beautifully written ~ Rose

  2. Beautiful poem. The repetition is extremely effective. I really enjoyed it.
    The Lonely Recluse.

  3. Becky says:

    This is so wonderful — I love the repetition.
    Thanks for sharing a piece of yourself!

  4. Tally says:

    Well written, I love the last stanza it’s so powerful. It has been one of my favorites from the rally, great job.

  5. meiro says:

    Very moving, beautifully written.
    Thanks for sharing.

Leave a Reply

